top of page
  • rlashlyauthor

Author Marie Higgins

Author Marie Higgins recently sat down for an interview about an upcoming book.

Enjoy.


What do you find interesting about your main characters?

In “His Lady”, I’ve picked a topic that not many historical romances will not touch. I researched the drugs that were used back in the Regency era (they were referred to as ‘poisons’) and the effects they had on those users. This, of course, led to making my hero work for the Bow Street Runners because they were trying to stop Opium Trading. Both the hero and heroine (Wayne Nichols and Regina Taylor) are given a newly created drug and the effects throw them together in a scandalous situation.


Where does the story take place and why did you choose this setting?

This story takes place in Regency England, early 1800s. I chose this setting because I enjoy writing out-of-the-norm Regency romance, and when I saw the book cover, my characters started talking to me and I couldn’t ignore them.


Share a little about the story behind the story.

Okay, so here is the story behind “His Lady”. When I first had the idea for this story, it was several years ago (like 12, to be exact). I had started writing the story as a contemporary. The hero was an undercover detective, and he suspected the heroine of being a drug dealer. Then, when I was invited into the “Secrets, Scandals, and Seduction” boxed set, and I was looking through my unfinished stories and saw this plot, I challenged myself to turn it into a historical. I have to admit, I didn’t think it would work, but it did. I’m happy about the outcome.



What is the theme or takeaway you want readers to think about?

When you fall in love, don’t question your heart because it knows the truth.


About The Author

When did you know you wanted to be an author?

In 2005 I started writing. Back then I did it for fun. It took a few years – and a dozen more stories in my collection – before I realized that maybe I should see if I could get published. I found a publishing company who took me on in 2010 and by 2011, I realized I didn’t like the restrictions given to me by the publisher, so that’s when I became a self-published author.


Favorite animal?

I’m a dog lover.


If you could travel to any spot in the world, where would it be?

England. I’d like to visit the places I write about.



What’s next in your writing?

I have several more stories planned for 2023 (both historical and contemporary). I’m with a handful of multi-author series groups, plus I have a few series I’m still working on for myself.



Social media links:


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Cake

May

Author Rose Pearson

Author Rose Pearson recently sat down for an interview. What do you find interesting about your main characters? Lady Essington is a young widow with a unique opportunity to earn some money secretly w

bottom of page